September 2009

KFOR's overall head quarters is located in Pristina, Kosovo. It consists of four main task forces, with contributions from 34 nations and more than 16,000 peacekeepers.

Since September 1, 2010, the KFOR commander is German Major General Erhard Bühler. He reports to the Commander of Joint Force Command Naples (COM JFCN) in Naples, Italy.

Multinational Task Force North

Multinational Task Force North is deployed in the northern region of Kosovo, and has its head quarters in Mitrovica.

Important parts of its mission are to monitor the Military Technical Agreement and to provide assistance to UNMIK, in order to facilitate peace and stability in Kosovo.

The task force operates in close cooperation with international and no-governmental organizations through is CIMIC (Civil Military Co-operation).

Contributing countries

  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • France (Lead nation)
  • Greece
  • Estonia
  • Luxemburg
  • Morocco

Multinational Task Force Central

This task force has its head quarters in Lipljan. It consists of contingents from:

Contributing countries

  • Czech Republic
  • Finland (Lead nation)
  • Ireland
  • Latvia
  • Slovakia
  • Sweden

Multi-National Task Force East

The task force has its head quarters in Urosevac.

Contributing countries

  • Armenia
  • Greece
  • Lithuania
  • Poland
  • Romania
  • Ukraine
  • United States (Lead nation)

Multi-National Task Force West

The task force has its head quarters in Pec.

Contributing countries

  • Italy (lead nation)
  • Slovenia
  • Hungary
  • Romania

Multi-National Task Force South

This task force has its head quarters in Prizren.

Contributing countries

  • Austria (Lead nation)
  • Bulgaria
  • Germany
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey